Recipes

Honey Sriracha  Shrimp Tacos with Chili Lime Rice and Fruit Salsa

dsc_0696

Seeing the truck was like a gravitational pull. It was my shiny beacon of hope. I couldn’t say no. And why should I? It was cheap, easy and healthy. Every bite was like a juicy bit of heaven in my mouth. Then it hit me, why couldn’t I make this glorious deliciousness at home. It would save me quite a bit in the long run and it didn’t seem that hard to make. So I did. I started making street style chicken tacos at home. Juicy bits of chicken and a bit of lime and cilantro to pack a small bite. Oh and lime juice of course. I was in heaven. My favorite food at home whenever I wanted. Recently though I got a bit of inspiration from a couple of restaurants. Lately my boyfriend and I have been hitting up Taco Time. My love for them started when I discovered their chicken crisp burrito, but after trying to cut down on fat and grease I discovered something new, Baja Fish Tacos! I get them every time we go. The other restaurant responsible for my inspiration was Don Juan’s Mexican Kitchen, in Tenino, WA. I get something new almost every time I go there because you can’t go wrong with any of his food. It has more than authenticity. It has flare! One of the things I absolutely LOVE from there are his shrimp tacos. So when my cravings hit I decided to make my own little creation with inspiration from both places. A little tribute to Taco Tuesday. I also decided to add rice and a fruit salsa on the side to really make it a meal.

Warning!

This meal is VERY spicy! It is not for the faint at heart. I usually have to drink a small glass of milk when I’m done.

So to make this you will need:

dsc_0523

For the tacos:

  • 2 corn tortillas
  • 10 cooked shrimp
  • 2 tsp. raw honey
  • 1/4 c. Cabbage (chopped) OR
  • 1/4 c. Cole Slaw mix
  • 1/8 c. Roma tomatoes (diced)
  • 1/8 c. Red onion (diced)
  • 1/8 c.  Cilantro leaves
  • 1/8 c. Jalapeño (diced)
  • 1/8 c. Sour cream
  • Juice of half of a lime
  • 2 tbsp. Sriracha

For the Rice:

  • 1/4 c. Brown Rice
  • 1/8 c. Cilantro (chopped finely)
  • Juice of a quarter of a lime
  • 1/4 tsp. Cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. Chili powder
  • 1 c. Chicken broth

For the fruit salsa:

  • 1/4 of a mango
  • 1 kiwi
  • 1/4 c. Blueberries
  • 1/4 of a nectarine

(Ingredients are based on single servings. Multiply ingredients by the number of servings you wish to make. i.e. If there are 4 people in your household and the ingredient calls for 1/4 cup, measure out one cup.)

To prepare the tacos, start by marinating  shrimp in 1 tbsp. of sriracha and 2 tsp. of honey.

dsc_0514

Make sure that each shrimp is evenly coated. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

Next get out a medium size bowl and combine cabbage, cilantro, tomato, jalapeño, onion, sour cream, lime juice and 1 tbsp. of Sriracha.

dsc_0528

Make sure that the sauce is thoroughly mixed in. One thing I noticed about both Taco Time and Don Juan’s Mexican Kitchen is how they use cabbage instead of lettuce. I personally think it also tastes better. It packs more of a crunch!

dsc_0577

Side Note: The best part about the cabbage mixture is if you make too much you can add some black beans, corn and chicken and you have a delicious southwestern style salad for lunch tomorrow!

Alright! Now that your cabbage/ veggie mixture is all done, cover it with plastic wrap and put it in the fridge. Next it’s time to start on the rice. I find rice incredibly bland so I like to spice it up in anyway possible. Sometimes adding dry spice is just not enough. So I used Chicken broth. You can use whatever type of broth, stock or juice that suits you though.

This is all you will need for a single serving.

dsc_0581

It doesn’t look like a lot because it’s not. You don’t need a whole lot of grain with your meal. Just enough for your daily requirement. I was prepping for the entire week so I did cook more than I needed for one meal.

Start your rice by bringing your broth to a boil. Once it’s at a boil, add the rice. Once the rice appears to be soaking up some of the broth you can start adding the seasoning and lime juice.

dsc_0614

I prefer to add the juice and seasoning while it’s simmering so that the rice can soak up all that flavor! Finish by following your rice’s cooking instructions or until broth and juice are completely soaked up by the rice. Once Rice is finished cooking you can add some diced tomato and shredded cilantro.

The cook time on the rice I bought was 45 minutes. So to utilize that time wisely I started on the fruit salsa! First chop up the mango, nectarine and kiwi, then combine with blueberries. Next, add lime juice from a quarter or half of a lime.

dsc_0589

After lime Juice is added, take a pinch of cinnamon and sprinkle it on your salsa.

fruit-salsa

Mix and set aside. Once your rice looks like it’s just about done you can take out the shrimp. Get out a skillet and heat it to medium heat. Once hot, add shrimp.

dsc_0665

Basically you want to cook them long enough so that they’re heated up and all the flavor sticks to them. So about 5 minutes or less. DO NOT OVERCOOK!! Overcooking shrimp will make them rubbery and hard. It’s not too hard to overcook these ones because they’re already cooked. So just be careful. While they’re heating up, stir them around occasionally with a spatula. Hopefully by the time they are done your rice is too. Which means it’s time to dish up!

dsc_0683

Measure out 1/4 cup of your rice. Add the tomatoes and shredded cilantro. Place 5 shrimp in each taco and top with cabbage mixture. Now you’re ready for a fiesta! If you’re sharing with multiple people I suggest making extras because it’s so good you won’t want to share! Enjoy and stay tuned for tomorrows health tips!


One thought on “Honey Sriracha  Shrimp Tacos with Chili Lime Rice and Fruit Salsa

Leave a Reply

